Hello, Indianapolis.

No, this isn’t a post about movies, sorry if you are disappointed. If you find yourself not disappointed continue reading.

I noticed a trend when I first started my post grad life near Indy. People loved to say goodbye. They wrote blog posts saying a fond farewell to a city they outgrew. They thanked friends and family and talked about how much they loved Indy but they ultimately admit that they were always looking for greener pastures. That is why I am writing this, this is my Hello to Indianapolis.

When I first started my job hunt post college I wanted out. I wanted out of Indiana and I had no real good reason for it. Call it group think but I just found myself searching far and wide for a better place to be. Eventually I realized it just wasn’t in the cards for me because maybe there wasn’t anything “better” about Nashville, LA, or Chicago. I ended up getting a job at a fantastic company in Indy and I moved to Fishers. I guess I could have called this a “Goodbye, Fishers” post but we don’t need to focus on that. I am ready to be IN Indianapolis. Not in the burbs, but in the city. I grew up in Anderson and going downtown to Market Square Arena for Pacers’ games was like going to Disney World world for me. It’s not just nostalgia that is calling me to become a downtown dweller but the improvements made in downtown Indy in the past decade are amazing. The community is alive and well and people are starting to take pride in their neighborhoods and neighbors. Why wouldn’t I want to be a part of all of that?

So where do you come in? Well I am looking for a new job and a new place to live.

Work at a company that is hiring? Check me out on LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/kelly-millspaugh/26/885/121

I have HR/recruiting experience and have worked in HR departments and in Career Services at my university. I also have some Marketing/Event Planning experience.

If you or someone you know wants to chat jobs, networking, or Indy with me feel free to email me at knmillspaugh@gmail.com.

If I end up writing one of those “Goodbye Indianapolis” posts one day you have permission to show me this and call me a hypocrite, but I highly doubt that will happen.

 

Thanks for stopping by!

One Comment on “Hello, Indianapolis.”

  1. kylee says:

    I hope you have better luck than me. I wanted to get out of Indiana too. Not a groupthink thing, but because I think it’s natural to want to see what else is out there. Wanting out isn’t bad. But I came to Indy from a tiny Indiana town to go to college and lived as a downtown dweller for a year before heading to Broad Ripple for the remainder and came to accept it was an okay place. I always wanted a reason to go back downtown again, but while the city started to really thrive during my time here, my industry (film and television) has dried up. I opened up my search to include the burbs and still, I was finding nothing. It’s disappointing because this city is perfect for the kind of job I do and someone needs to figure out how to convince clients to bring their work here. I ended up getting a job in Atlanta, a city and state that does offer my industry incentives and rewards for doing work there. I’m excited to finally see what it’s like to live outside the midwest, but after dragging my feet to Indy and spending 8 years here, I can’t say that my departure is as glorious as I originally thought it would be.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.